2013 has been quite a year.

I can’t believe how, in the span of just 12 short months, people and situations can grow and change.

This time last year, Reagan was still wearing braces, 3rd grade, free from very much drama. Now, she’s about to get her first pair of glasses, blossoms more and more into a young lady instead of little girl, and is rapidly becoming acquainted with the ugly side of relationships and has learned some hard lessons about people and the inevitability that they will let you down.

My husband – ah Shey. Sometimes I think he’s the only unchanging thing in my life besides God. He’s true to himself and never wavers from love and support for me. This has been an incredible gift to me over this past year especially.
Because it was a grueling year.

Physically. Emotionally. Mentally.

So as I reflect and begin to prepare for a New Year, I’m thinking about what 2013 has taught me.

Firstly, never say never. If you had told me 3 years ago I’d be an Episcopalian college graduate, I’d have cracked a rib laughing. Be careful how you pray and what you pray for!

Second, I am not above bitterness. For a long time, I thought I was. That I had seen so many people in my lifetime that are eaten up with it, I would avoid it at all costs. But the thing about bitterness is, it tastes good to a hurting soul. You need someone to blame, someone to hate and before you know it, you’re in an ugly place with no one to blame but yourself and nobody that can help you except God. It’s been a hard lesson and one I haven’t mastered yet.

Third, the older I get, the more questions, rather than answers, I have. And that’s ok. I’m ok with not being right about everything. And it’s taken me a long time to admit it, but it is freeing to do so.
Fourth, smile. Even when it’s the last thing you want to do. I have forced myself on many days this last year to put my own junk aside and be someone else’s light. If we all did that more often, wow. I’m not saying to fake your life, or that I’m a perky little ray of sunshine. I’m just saying maybe spend a little less time worrying about YOUR problems and hurts and be there for someone else. Sometimes it’s just what YOU needed.

Life is so short. It’s a cliche statement but so, so true. 2013 often felt as though it was crawling by. Other times, I felt like it was spinning so fast, out of control, and I couldn’t stop long enough to catch my breath.

I have no idea what 2014 will hold, but I’m sure it will also alternate between slow and insanity. And I’m also sure that these lessons and many others will ring true once again in the new year.

My wish for you in 2014 is peace, prosperity, love, and joy.

Blessings, friends.

