I had the opportunity over the weekend to do something I don’t get to do much anymore. Play in the woods. I say “play” but it was more like a ride in an ATV and some walking around the land and woods that make up my childhood home.

When I was a kid, I spent a lot of time in those woods. Walking, picking blackberries and huckleberries, wading in the creeks, climbing trees. I’d sometimes go and just sit – listen to the creek rushing over the rocks. I have always found that by slipping off into nature, I can finally hear myself think again. Or, I can tune out all thoughts altogether and just be.

As I sat for a moment and observed the river, I was reminded how it always moves. It never stops. It carves out new bends and turns over time, but it never stops. Always rolling on.

This put so much into perspective for me.

First of all, life is full of unexpected issues. Problems. And many times we seem to expect or want the world to stop turning for us because of them. But it doesn’t. It rolls on.

Sometimes we can’t continue to go in the direction we intended. We have to learn to carve out new bends and turns in our path. And roll on.

Sometimes, life is SO busy and we get SO wrapped up in the cares of life that we forget about the beauty of what God put all around us. We forget to be still and know that He is God in the silence and peace of His creation. Nothing heals the soul like being still before our Father, outside on a beautiful day or inside on a rainy day or wrapped up in a blanket on a dreary day. The point is to observe it. Feel it. Appreciate it.

Because that river rolls on. Whether we stop to watch or not.

