As I get older (and hopefully wiser), I am learning just how important it is to not place limitations on yourself. Or life in general.

If you had told me 5 years ago that I would go back to school, graduate with honors, and seek local public office all within 3 years time, I’d have probably laughed. Or ran away. Because that seems hard. And parts of it were hard. Are hard.

But with each new unforeseen bend in the road, I look for the opportunity it affords me to grow as a person and continue to be transformed into who God created me to be.

These “refining processes” as I like to think of them are what develop our character. They are what strengthen our faith. Humble us. OR – they break us. Most of the time, they do all three in a sort of cycle. It is through these processes that we become authentic, sensitive to others, and, hopefully, less selfish. And most of all, the refinement process shows us what God is capable of when we let Him have His way with us. That He is more than capable of making the impossible possible.

 

