“I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read, and all the friends I want to see.”          John Burroughs
 
At a couple of junctures in my adult life I have worked two jobs. When I think of being a wife and mom while also working outside the home, I STILL feel like I work 2 jobs a lot of days. From 2011 until last December, I was a full time student in addition to working and taking care of my family. I have been a very active church member. I have been an involved sister, aunt, daughter, granddaughter and friend. I try to go above and beyond for people, whether it’s in my job or my church or my family – I want to do right by them. When I was in school, I wanted not just to learn, I wanted to excel. I am a perfectionist in many areas of my life. And I’ve had to learn how to stop being quite so rigid.
 
Right now, I’m off on Wednesdays. I’m not going to lie, I am thoroughly enjoying this at the moment. It allows me the opportunity to do some things during the middle of the week that I couldn’t do otherwise and will allow me to campaign more this summer as well. But I have to fight to not fill up ALL of my free time. Because as much as I hate to admit it, I need “me” time. And when I say, “me” time, I don’t mean a day at the spa, a pedicure, a shopping day. Those are all nice, well, and good, but they don’t refresh my soul. Not like a long lunch with a friend. Hanging out with my mom, doing nothing in particular. Reading a good book. Taking a long, uninterrupted nap. Sitting outside and enjoying the few and far between spring-like days we have in Mississippi before summertime comes to choke us with humidity. These little things that fill up my off days are nice. Yes, I could probably get a lot more done around the house on those days. But after several years of running wide open and with many months of heavy campaigning ahead, I feel the need to take some time and just be. Because all too soon they’ll be gone and I don’t want to have wasted them.
 
