I told my mom today that sometimes I sit back and think, “Did I really just finish 2 and a half years of grueling schoolwork only to graduate and then almost immediately launch a political campaign?”

Talk about jumping from the frying pan into the fire!

But, as with all these journeys – school, career moves, parenting, whatever – there is so much to learn.

First of all, I couldn’t have done this a year ago. Two years ago. I wasn’t ready. I didn’t know myself like I do now. The last several years have been more about learning who I am more than anything I learned in a textbook or from a lecture (though I learned a lot from those too).

And who I am is what I am running on.

I have no hidden ulterior motives. I’m not on a power trip. I want the job. I would be good at it. I have the skills and the personality to carry out the duties and carry them out well. It’s just that simple.

And I hope that when people look at me, meet me, talk to me, they sense that I am genuine. Because I am. I hate a phony. I hope they see someone they relate to. Another mom. Another wife. Another person that gets up in the morning and hopes by the end of the day they’ve helped someone else and helped support their own family.

My support system is so incredible. My family, my friends, people I work with – I am blessed to have so many people believe in me the way they do. I don’t take that for granted at all.

So Saturday, Saturday will be it. The day I rev the engine and set out on another journey. No possible way of knowing the outcome. But that’s ok….because life is all about the journey itself and I can’t wait to learn the lessons this one has to offer.

