We tend to only highlight the big successes of life – the graduations, the promotions, etc. Rarely do we focus on the baby steps that often get us there. When I was in school, it was putting that next test, that next paper, that next semester behind me until I finally reached my goal. But I celebrated every good grade, every “gold star” (yes, I had a professor that gave gold stars), and every little victory. Focusing on those helped me stay in the moment and not get caught up in the impatience of waiting for the ultimate prize. It didn’t ALWAYS work, but it really did help. When I would let it.

I put up 3 signs this weekend. It’s not much. I knocked on dozens of doors. Again, not a HUGE amount – but every time someone gives me their promised vote, every time someone lets me put a sign in their yard, I know I’m closer. Closer to that ultimate victory.

I’ve lost 5 pounds in the last 2 and a half weeks. I’d love to be one of those “results not typical” people on TV who dropped 40 lbs in 6 weeks or whatever, but every pound down is a victory. Every better choice is a victory. Every health issue that subsides or goes away is a victory.

I say it often, but the journey is just as important as the destination. In fact, it’s probably the MOST important.

It applies to other situations too.

Every time I hold my tongue when I could have gone all terminator on someone – it’s a baby step toward being a better me.

Every time I turn the other cheek instead of lashing out at someone who hurt me – it’s a baby step toward being a Christ-like example of grace.

Every time I turn to God in prayer instead of self-analyzing and trying to make sense of things that simply don’t make any sense – it’s a baby step in faith.

Every morning I open my eyes – it’s a new day, a day to maybe not win the BIG victories, but to take several baby steps toward them.

