I’m a firm believer of occasionally cutting myself off from certain things for a period of time. If for no other reason but to gain back some control, or at least some perspective.
I took the recent holiday weekend off from campaigning because, well, I’m a nice person and I don’t intrude on people’s holidays with my visits. And since it was an “off” weekend, I decided to truly make it an OFF weekend. From Thursday night until Sunday night I didn’t discuss the campaign or even think about it (much). If I found myself thinking about it, I consciously made myself think on something else. This may sound simple to you, but I tend to have a one track mind and when I have something taking up a lot of my time, I tend to obsess over it a tiny bit. It’s a fine line with me.
I also logged off of Facebook and logged on only one time and only to tell one of my best friends “Happy Birthday”. I had already told her in person and via text, but I decided everybody else needed to know how much I love her too.
Oddly enough I read an interview with someone during my fast about just that subject. Disconnecting from the things that distract us and focusing on the tangible realities right in front of us.
It’s easier said than done in the age we live in. Reagan got a Kindle Fire for Christmas and while she reads on it, I noticed she hadn’t been asking for books lately. So, last week, we made a trip to the library. She checked out several books and I’m happy to report I’ve seen the books in her hands more often lately than her electronics. I’d mess with the settings on it to control how much she plays games and such, but to be perfectly honest, I want her to teach herself how to switch it off and pick up a book. Because it’s often those self-disciplines that stick with us the most. The love of reading and other activities is there, sometimes she just needs an adjustment like the trip to the library to stir her out of less than desirable habits.
And the same goes for me. Getting away from the cyber world, getting a grip on my own thoughts and shifting them toward other, equally important things, was a decision. A good one. One that I will repeat.

