A couple of months ago, I began to realize that as many good traits as I’ve passed on to Reagan genetically, I have apparently also passed along my bad vision. I’ve worn corrective lenses of some kind since I was 5 years old. Reagan got glasses about 18 months ago to help her see distantly but a few months ago I began to realize that she was squinting at everything.

So, I hauled her back to the eye doctor and, sure enough, her vision was twice as bad as it was the last time.

So, I told her that I thought she needed to try contacts. And she was very nervous about it. Ultimately, I left it up to her. Shey and I have both worn contact lenses for years, so she knew they were not that big of a deal to us. Still, the thought of putting something in her eyes made her anxious.

She listened to all the pros and cons and decided, albeit a little reluctantly, to give it a whirl.

The eye tech put them in for her yesterday and then left us in the room for about 15 minutes for her eyes to adjust.

I can’t really think of the word to describe how Reagan reacted when she realized she could see. “Giddy” comes close. “I can READ that!” “I can SEE THAT!”

All the way home yesterday, she was pretty quiet. I think she was a little bit in shock at how much she HADN’T been seeing.

It took her about 20 minutes to get them out last night. This morning, she tried for 30 minutes to get them in, but I ended up doing it for her, lest she be late for school. But she’ll get it. Practice will get her there. I know from experience.

I wouldn’t be me without seeing a bigger analogy here.

Sometimes we are so comfortable with our blindness. To correct it would take patience, and new experiences. And sometimes we simply aren’t open to those things. But when we are, we see just how much we have been missing. And it is kind of shocking. But then, we adjust. And we don’t dare go back to blindness again.

It’s amazing how new focus changes us.

