Lent will be here in a matter of hours, and this year I’m doing a study on “Time”. Ironically, as it begins this week, I find myself in the throes of an incredibly busy month. I’m looking forward to the 40 days of introspection. Especially on this particular topic. I need it.
I generally don’t give up something “physical” for Lent. Nothing like chocolate or sweets or bread. Maybe I should. Instead, I try to focus on behavior. How can I better discipline myself in some way? That may be the wrong way to go about this season of denial and preparation for Easter, but to me, it just makes sense. Self-denial can mean a lot of things and for me, sometimes it means to stop with a pattern of thinking or behavior with which I’ve become comfortable. Worrying, for example. A couple of years ago, I began my 40 day journey of Lent with the idea to stop worrying so much. And I can honestly say that, though I fell on my face many times, it was an amazingly beautiful 40 days that culminated in one of the most meaningful Easters I’ve ever celebrated.

So this year, it’s all about “time”. How to appreciate it. How to use it more wisely. How to let it work for me instead of me working for it. I’m going to blog some of it here, so just be prepared.

I hope that each of you has a beautiful, meaningful season of Lent. I look forward to sharing some of mine with you. The peace of the Lord be always with you.

