Yesterday’s terrorist attacks on the city of Paris were the stuff of nightmares. I had been on my way home from work, listening to a CD in my car, and while I was sitting in line picking up supper, I scrolled through Facebook and saw the terrible alerts popping up.

When I walked through my front door, there was a bouquet of roses on my kitchen table. My husband had gotten them for me. For no reason other than he just wanted to.

My husband and I had pretty much been arguing all day. I was, actually, quite an ass to him.

But I came home to flowers. And, more importantly, we came home to each other.

He walked up to me, we gave each other a big hug, and I just broke down in tears. I said, “So many people will not come home tonight. I am so glad you’re here.”

I have watched very little media coverage of the attacks because, honestly, knowing more about them doesn’t change anything for me. My reaction and attitude is the same as it was last night: sorrow and sympathy.

When unspeakable tragedy happens, it always amazes me about how many people SPEAK. Speak as if they understand the situation, speak as if they have the answers, speak as if there is something more to be done at this time than simply pray. Pray for the families of the victims. Pray for the survivors. Pray for the leaders of Paris and France.

People immediately start screaming, “This is why gun control is a bad idea.” OR “This is why gun control is needed.” Though, admittedly I’ve heard more of the former than the latter.

Here’s a clue, idiot: Gun control has absolutely nothing to do with terrorism. If those radicals hadn’t had machine guns, they would have had homemade bombs. If they hadn’t had homemade bombs, they would have had knives. If they hadn’t had knives, they would have had screwdrivers or hammers or clubs or razorblades. The point is, if enough people band together to carry out something like this, they can do it and nobody’s politics is going to stop it. If more than half of those people in Paris last night had been carrying guns, that probably wouldn’t have changed anything either. You know why? Because most of us have been blessed to be born into a society where we don’t have to defend ourselves every day with a weapon. I own a gun, but if I had been confronted with a situation as horrific as yesterday’s events, I don’t know if I would have had the presence of mind to use it. Or even the courage. That’s a pretty big assumption to say you would if you’ve never actually been faced with something similar.

Then we have those who start screaming, “Close our borders!” Guess what? Timothy McVeigh was a home grown American. I saw the other day where Donald Trump wanted to stop allowing the automatic American citizenship of children born to immigrants. What the hell do you think WE ARE? Yeah, we have big immigration issues in this country, but big blanket policies that politicians seem to come up with in the shower that morning are generally not the answer and wouldn’t be feasible, much less work if they were.

I’m just tired of the stupidity on both sides of the political spectrum. And while many will think that people like me are against them if I’m not for them, or don’t have convictions because I don’t stand on the right or left side of the aisle, I’ll be more than happy to tell you what my convictions are.

My first conviction and understand, this is MY conviction and quite obviously not held by everyone, is that Jesus is not a Democrat or a Republican. He is not a Baptist or an Episcopalian. He does not hate people, period. But He does start throwing tables around and kicking self-righteous people out of His house when they start taking advantage of the poor and disenfranchised, and when they profane Who and what He’s about. He also knew how to be SILENT. When He was “on trial” (which was about as much of trial as a Law and Order episode) He was silent before His accusers. Most of us, myself included (convicted as I type, but Jesus knows about my hormone problems) could take a page from his book and just keep our mouths shut from time to time.

My second conviction is this: nobody on this earth has all the answers. And sometimes, solutions to problems come from someplace unexpected. But people are so consumed with their own pride and their need to be right, that they wouldn’t even consider another opinion if it didn’t look just like theirs. The hardest thing in the world is to sit down and really look at your own belief system and how/why you came up with it. But most people are too lazy to do that because it requires effort and they’re scared of what they’ll find out. Not just that they might be wrong, but that there might not be one right answer. If you’re 100% certain of everything you know and believe, good for you. 💋 I used to be. But then life happened. And kept happening. And not all those neat and clean little belief systems held water anymore. Sorry if my faith isn’t as profound as yours – I’m betting God understands.

Bottom line people, here’s a newsflash for you: You. Don’t. Know. Everything. I applaud your attempt at analytical thinking and appreciate your grasping at whatever ideology you hold dear because, in the wake of such an unsettling tragedy, both are normal reactions.

But here’s where you need to check yourself: Jesus Christ is a BIIIIG name to be dropping as part of your opinions, so please, be very careful about doing that. Especially when your entire attitude exudes anything but the unconditional love of Christ.

And finally, my last post was about just how short life is. We were all reminded of that yesterday. So while I know I’m certainly not right about everything, I do know that my reaction to the news yesterday was about as right as it gets. Hug those you love. Tell them you’re grateful for them. And pray.

