……..I’ve been on a blogging kick lately. I attribute it to the fact that I’m feeling better since my surgery, have a little more energy and a lot lower tolerance for b.s.

I don’t like to get into religious or political arguments. It’s a futile effort. I have an ex-husband and come from an opinionated family, so I have a black belt in arguing. But it doesn’t solve anything. It’s not like I NEVER argue – I do. But as a general rule, I don’t make a habit of it nearly as much as I used to and when I do, Im getting better about not allowing it to rattle me. It’s taken me several years to get to the point where I genuinely don’t care when someone disagrees with me, so I try to understand when other people are not as passive about the fact that I do not agree with them, because I still struggle with it. I generally leave my blog/facebook page open for comments and typically try to respond in some way to them if I feel that I should, but I don’t publish a post to elicit a debate. I don’t publish a post for any other reason than the simple fact that writing, in and of itself, is therapeutic for me. It is catharsis. I blogged long before I started one to share through social media. I’ve journaled off and on for years. Ideas and words and thoughts build up in me to the point that I HAVE to release them. If you want to read them, please do. If you don’t want to read them, I don’t care. If you agree with me, great! If you feel I expressed your thoughts on a subject, that’s awesome, and I’m honored by your compliments. If you don’t agree with me, you can tell me, and you can tell me why. And you can tell me why without being rude about it. Mutual respect solves a lot of problems.

I was un-friended yesterday by someone that I have known since I was a kid. We didn’t see eye to eye on something. She made her final comment after I said I was done for the night and went to bed. She then shared my post on her page, I guess to show her friends how stupid and evil she thinks I am,  and then un-friended me so I could not comment on it. My sister is a mutual friend and the shared post is not there today, or she has been blocked from viewing it. I hope she thought better of posting it and not being respectful enough to allow me to defend myself. I would hope she wouldn’t be so hateful as to post something about me behind my back. But if she did, she did. My record shows that she shared it – anything beyond that is just an assumption based on her attitude. She shared an article earlier this year about childhood vaccinations. I respectfully made comments that disagreed with the article and she deleted them. So, here we have someone who can dish out but can’t take. Immaturity at its finest. If you’re going to have the balls to say something, you need to have the balls for the backlash. And I do. This post is public, and if she chooses to see it, she can and can comment.

See, I came to the conclusion recently that if I’m going to have an online presence in some way, be it a blog, some form of social media, etc. then I had to make a decision. I was either going to share my opinion sometimes when it’s hard to do so, or I was going to keep my mouth shut and only post non-offensive things. I think you can see which option I decided to go with. Again, people disagreeing with me doesn’t bother me. Pardon my french, but people being a**holes when they disagree with me bothers me. I deal with difficult people all day long. I don’t intend to spend my leisure time being treated in a hateful manner either through the comments made to me or in the actions afterward without saying something about it. I’ve posted a lot on this blog about how short life is – it’s also too short to be treated like crap.

I’ll be honest. I’m rather pissed off today. I’m not pissed off AT ALL that this girl disagreed with me. Truth be told, probably 90% of my Facebook friends didn’t agree with my post yesterday. It pissed me off that she picked an argument and then was a coward about it. I’m a big girl. I can pretty much handle whatever you throw at me. I readily admit my imperfections, my lack of education about theology, politics, etc. I’m just a 33 year old woman trying to do the best I can. I think most everybody else is also just trying to do the best they can. But the situation I experienced last night is exactly what is wrong with society. A lot of people can’t handle other people not thinking exactly like they do, and they start acting hateful, childish, and superior. The one shining light for me is that there was another person who expressed their disagreement on my post, and the outcome was totally different. I told him that I knew that he would disagree with me and I also knew exactly where a debate would go, should we choose to have it. I told him it would be best for us to let it lie. He agreed. As far as I know, we still love each other, and, I believe, still respect each other despite our difference of opinion. That’s how grown-ups disagree. Respectfully.

However, if you choose to end our friendship because you don’t agree with me, or you don’t like the person I’ve grown up to be, that is your choice. You aren’t the first, and probably won’t be the last.

I think that, starting Thanksgiving week, I will take a much needed hiatus from Facebook and the blog until after New Years. I spend too much time in virtual reality and my husband and daughter lose patience with me over it – rightfully so.

So, Happy Thanksgiving, blog readers. Merry Christmas. See ya in 2016.

