Isn’t it amazing? How, in one day, you can experience the breadth of life?

Yesterday, I heard from a friend. A loved one has been battling cancer, and now it has returned. I’ve been in a position of watching someone I love battle the unknown. It’s scary. It’s unsettling. It’s the unknown because we don’t know what the outcome will be.

I also spoke with a friend yesterday who is changing his life. In a few months, he’ll be off to a new city, learning something new, making a new life. It’s scary. It’s unsettling. It’s the unknown, because we don’t know what the outcome will be.

There is hope for both situations. There is possibility in each.

I told the friend who is moving away that his entire demeanor was different yesterday than it had been in months, years. He appeared as though a huge weight had been lifted from his shoulders. He said to me, “I feel different. I don’t feel defeated anymore. Just the possibilities, the idea that there’s something different in my future has changed my perspective.”

I can relate. I have been thinking a lot about possibilities lately. It takes some level of courage to go there in my mind, some level of faith, to see beyond the here and now. The facts in front of my face.

The Scripture tells us that, with God, all things are possible. So much of the Bible is used out of context, especially in this day and time, but this is one of those sections that I think God really wants us to take simply, and completely, and embrace it in our hearts. “All things are possible…”

Yes, possibly, I will one day own a condo on Navarre Beach. And yes, possibly, I might go bankrupt and spend the rest of my life in poverty. Each day is a possibility.

As much as the Scripture seems to indicate that, with faith, all sorts of good things may happen, God is not a man, He is not predictable. So all things are possible. Good things, and, seemingly bad things.

The place of faith that I find myself coming back to, again and again, is that because of this unpredictability, we need something in our life that is changeless. Eternal. Trustworthy.

People are sometimes very unpredictable. I live with a tween and I cannot predict her mood from one day to the next. But I trust her. Because I know her at the core of who she is.

I cannot predict my friend’s loved ones’ future. What the future test results will hold. Likewise, I cannot predict my other friend’s future. Whether he will succeed or fail. One depends a lot on science, medicine, attitude and faith. The other depends a lot on drive, determination, attitude and hard work. Both have possibilities.

But here is where the two intersect: for one, a good attitude is essential for the positive outcome of both situations. Our mental state can make or break us.

The other place where the two situations come together is a place of faith. While one is simply playing the hand they’ve been dealt and the other is actively trying to change their life, both require some semblance of faith. Of hope. Of embracing possibility. I have moved back and forth at times, thinking God really cares about the details of our lives, and sometimes thinking He must be more Creator than a Preservator. But I embrace the idea that He is both. I am open to the possibility. With God, all things are possible, after all.

I think, wherever you find yourself in your life at this moment, it’s essential to remember the possibilities. The good and the bad. I think this is how God intends for us to view life: one possibility after another. I think it is in embracing the unpredictability that we come to know the changelessness of God’s nature. The unquenchenchlessness of his love. The limitlessness of his power.

Possibilities are powerful. They have the ability to strike us with fear or hope, sometimes both. So as you embrace the possibilities before you today, remember that God is the author and finisher of our faith. He is full of possibility in and of Himself. There is no darkness in Him. There is nothing to truly fear when He is with you, and He is always with you. Embrace your possibilities today. Trust the Author. He writes no stories of defeat.

