Tags

Near the small community where I live and grew up, there is a familiar crossroad. It’s somewhat of a landmark around here. It can be difficult to give someone directions without it sometimes. But if they know where that crossroad is, explaining where to go from there is much simpler.

I have come to many Crossroads in my life – both literal and metaphorical. Both have taken me interesting places. Both, to me, represent possibility, opportunity and some degree of uncertainty. But one thing’s for certain, you can’t get anywhere unless you pick a road and start traveling it.

Getting married was a decision I made at one crossroad. It was certainly one of uncertainty. Making a lifelong commitment to another person when you’ve already failed at it one time is scary.

Going back to college was another crossroad decision. As were job decisions. The decision to change religious denominations. All have had a profound impact on my life.

Most of the decisions made at the Crossroads of my life rest in the questions they pose. Will this road take me to my destination? By taking one road over the others, will I get there more safely, more quickly? When in unfamiliar surroundings, the answers to those questions do not often show themselves immediately.

I have selected many directions on faith alone, and sometimes, at the end of those journeys I have been left baffled by what possible good they could have done for me. But I’m starting to see some of that good now, in ways I couldn’t have at the time. And because of some of the harsh lessons I’ve learned along the ways of some of those particular paths, I have become more fearless the next time I reach an intersection of decision. I’ve learned that whatever road I choose, the good things of my life will still remain. There will always be another crossroad up ahead, and that one may be the very one I’ve been waiting for.

And if not? Well, I always know the way home.

