Tags

, , ,

​I am not a “disgrace to women” because I don’t support the women’s march. Nobody said you were, and if they did, it was wrong of them to say so. Activism takes on many different faces. 

I do not feel I am a “second class citizen” because I am a woman. 

Then you are privileged because there are millions of women around the world, including the U.S. who do feel that way. Because they are. Just because you are not does not make it untrue for all.

I do not feel my voice is “not heard” because I am a woman. I do not feel I am not provided opportunities in this life or in America because I am a woman.

Then you have never been talked over in a meeting by a group of men, or passed over for a deserving promotion in place of a man, or experienced outright, blatent discrimination. You are blessed indeed.

I do not feel that I “don’t have control of my body or choices” because I am a woman. 

That’s because you do. Thanks to the women who went before you and insured that you had that right. It hasn’t always been so.

I do not feel like I am ” not respected or undermined” because I am a woman. 

I do. Not all the time. But a lot of the time. And so do many others.

I AM a woman. 

So am I.

I can make my own choices. 

So can I.

I can speak and be heard. 

I can speak and am heard.

I can VOTE. 

I can and do vote. Always.

I can work if I want. 

I can and do work, because I want the best possible life for my family.

I control my body. 

So do I.

I can defend myself. 

I can also. With my words, with my actions, and, as a last resort, with my 9 mm.

I can defend my family. 

See above.

There is nothing stopping me to do anything in this world but MYSELF. 

Which is why activism is necessary. What we don’t speak up to prevent will overtake us when we are threatened. What we allow will continue.

I do not blame my circumstances or problems on anything other than my own choices or even that sometimes in life, we don’t always get what we want. I take responsibility for myself. 

Sometimes things are not your fault. Personal responsibility is fine, when it’s yours to take. Of course we don’t always get what we want, life is not perfect. But to resign oneself to that every time something is lost is a defeatist attitude. If that’s helped you cope healthily all your life, that is your choice. Others choose a different path. 

I am a mother, a daughter, a wife, a sister, a friend. 

I am too. All of these.

I am not held back in life but only by the walls I choose to not go over which is a personal choice. 

And you have made your choices loud and clear. Do not blame others for choosing to scale the walls they deem important in their own lives.

Quit blaming. 

Yes. Please do.

Take responsibility. 

Yes. Please own your beliefs with pride and intelligence and kindness to your fellow women.

If you want to speak, do so. But do not expect for me, a woman, to take you seriously wearing a pink va-jay-jay hat on your head and screaming profanities and bashing men. 

They are angry. Many have been through hells you will never understand. You don’t have to take them seriously or even respond. Let them be. They are not hurting you.

If you have beliefs, and speak to me in a kind matter, I will listen. But do not expect for me to change my beliefs to suit yours. 

No one can understand another person until they try. Maybe they’ve been trying to get your attention and the attention of others for years. You don’t have to change your beliefs but

Respect goes both ways. 

Yes. So let it start now. Without the criticisms, without the hostility. With you and with me.

If you want to impress me, especially in regards to women, then speak on the real injustices and tragedies that affect women in foreign countries that do not that the opportunity or means to have their voices heard. 

That was part of the reason many marched.

Saudi Arabia, women can’t drive, no rights and must always be covered. 

China and India, infantcide of baby girls. 

Afghanistan, unequal education rights. 

Democratic Republic of Congo, where rapes are brutal and women are left to die, or HIV infected and left to care for children alone. 

Mali, where women can not escape the torture of genital mutilation. 

Pakistan, in tribal areas where women are gang raped to pay for men’s crime. 

Guatemala, the impoverished female underclass of Guatemala faces domestic violence, rape and the second-highest rate of HIV/AIDS after sub-Saharan Africa. An epidemic of gruesome unsolved murders has left hundreds of women dead, some of their bodies left with hate messages.

And that’s just a few examples. 

Horrendous tragedies. Let us empower ourselves so we can reach out to our sisters across the globe and bring attention to their need for equal rights. If you’re waiting on American men, it likely won’t happen.

So when women get together in AMERICA and whine they don’t have equal rights and march in their clean clothes, after eating a hearty breakfast, and it’s like a vacation away that they have paid for to get there…

Using words like “whine” and then assuming all of the women who marched had all those things makes you part of the problem, not the solution.

This WOMAN does not support it.

That is your choice.

I will raise my girls the same.. to respect people, whether you agree with them or not, and to share the love of Christ!

I would be very careful with this statement. I do not see the love of my Christ demonstrated in either your words, nor your attitude. And I pray that your children, and mine, recognize blatant hypocrisy when they see it and refrain from it.

**no discussions on this post. If you love it, awesome! I love receiving love. If you don’t love it, that’s ok too, but you don’t have to post here 😘 make this your status if you know how good you have it

No discussions means that you are not willing to listen. That is a problem, my sister. And you need to work on it. All of us do.

