I don’t often pen a post of reflection on the year until late December. This year, I’ve decided to do a little periodic check-in to contemplate how life appears to be going. I was looking at a “zen journal” in the bookstore last weekend and that was sort of the point of it. It’s about making time for personal reflection on a regular basis about where you are in life, and where you want to be.

Once a year is hardly “a regular” basis. The journal I saw had weekly exercises. I think once a month is sufficient – for blogging about this kind of stuff anyway. But if any of you are looking for birthday ideas for me, mine is April 6 and the zen journals were at Barnes and Noble. =)

So, January.

I’ve been writing. And writing. And writing some more! Some for work, some for the blog, even some fiction that may never see the light of day. But I’m writing, and that’s what matters. Making time for it just happens, because I make it so. I stay up too late at night these days, sometimes only getting 5 or so hours of sleep, but I already feel more fulfilled than I have ever before in my life. Diving into this part of myself with some sense of reckless abandon has made me a much happier person. I’m writing more honestly than I ever have, which is saying a lot because I’ve always been very transparent in what I publish. But I think about it more, research more, and edit A LOT more.

I’m also following other writers on social media, and that gives me inspiration and camaraderie that I don’t get elsewhere. Yay for fellowship with other artists!

Therapy continues to progress in that I am feeling continued healing and understanding in the areas where I hold the most anxiety and depression. I think it’s been a combination of great sessions with my therapist and expressing myself more and better through my art that has brought me to a new place of satisfaction and hopefulness. 

Basketball season is OVER. I am going to miss seeing Reagan play. I am also going to miss wanting to rip off the heads of the refs, and our coach….nah, not really. I have enough righteous indignation in my life. Thanks though. Reagan is now taking private art lessons and is happier than I’ve seen her in 6 months. And that makes me very happy too.

I’ve been to the movies 3 times since New Years. Every single one of them was good and where I used to just want to be home on the weekends because I stay so busy Monday – Friday, I’m realizing that these little movie outings either by myself, or with Reagan, or just as a family in general have a kind of renewal about them and feed my soul as much as being utterly lazy at times.

Speaking of not being lazy, I went to Yoga for the first time last night, which I’m planning to be a segue into what will be a big focus of mine for the coming months: physical fitness. I’ve started walking again, and am ready to start training for those 5K events that I will begin in May. Someone actually GAVE me at Fitbit Alta and I’m thoroughly saddened at what a desk job does to a person and I’m only on day 3 of wearing it. It’s been an eye opener nonetheless and I suppose that’s a good thing. 

I didn’t set any specific New Year’s goals, but I did want 2017 to be a year of personal enrichment – artistically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and physically. 

So far, it seems, I am on track. 

