Tags

, ,

Kneeling, I receive ashes; the sign of the cross on my forehead.

Be in my thoughts, Lord Christ. 

I speak prayers of confession and contrition; seeking forgiveness and renewal.

Be in my words, Lord Christ.

Your mercy is offered before I ask; sins forgotten, shortcomings erased.

Help me to live true repentance, Lord Christ.

I attempt to put away selfishness; I commit to fasting and alms giving.

Be in my actions, Lord Christ.

This day, for this season of Lent, and for the days to come, remind me of the ashes.

Bring often to my mind the fleeting nature of this life, and my true insignificance in it compared to you.

Grant me humility.

Remind me that the old things must be burned away before resurrections can be celebrated.

And as always is my prayer, grant me strength and courage, to love and serve you with gladness and singleness of heart, through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

